Day 5: Had an Appointment with Usability Research Company

Yeap and it was a very insightful visit to their company over at Boat Quay. That’s where Focus Groups and User Testings are being conducted, something I didn’t have the privilege for my project. Nonetheless, was glad to meet like-minded people who cares so much for the users of our applications. Trust me, many developers still don’t. Spent almost an entire day there due to the appointment being scheduled mid noon.

Was working on my Commerce package for only 2 hours and ended up scrapping the banner design simply because it didn’t even excite me, needless to say for the other users. That’s kinda my way to stopping myself when I know I’m coming up with some crappy stuff. But had another idea but Project Butterfly needed more work.

Decided to go into Site Mapping the entire application to know how many pages of wireframes and guess what? I suddenly realized an alternative to grouping the products! So ended up with 2 site maps which I must decide by tomorrow which one is better. The first one groups the products by its type and thats how I ended up with so many buttons. The second one groups the products by it area affected and therefore giving me lesser buttons and enable a certain process flow for the user. I need a 2nd opinion but I’m all alone in the office right now. Shall wait till tomorrow to meet my designers and put it on the table. 

So not much was achieved today, I’m ashamed of myself but somehow glad that the Site Mapping might lead to something better in the end. Means my Paper Prototyping kinda failed its purpose. Wireframes tomorrow and also to decide if user would need to login to use the system, seems redundant as users should not be returning customers for another good 5 years at least.

Leave a comment