Day 4: Paper Prototyping and Rapid Prototyping

Spent more time today on the paper prototyping and trying to figure out the interactions. However, this application has more buttons than usual and even the ‘mini-cart’ has to be constantly on the page, taking up quite a lot of screen estate. Decided to make it slide in when needed, hopefully that will be smooth enough for all browsers. Gawd, I hate IE.

Ended up with two different sets of navigational bars, one for the ‘administrative’ stuff like Home, About Us and Contact Us. While the other remains for only for Product Categories and Sub-categories. Glad that I was able to sort out the functionality wireframing but was beginning to worry about the beautified UI as it looks quite bad now. (maybe its my drawing)

So didn’t manage to get on to site map but guessed I will be using the numbering system to create one simple one as the project might grow quite a bit if I’m not careful with the grouping of products. Sadly, I seemed to be crawling in this chapter of the book but hopefully things will start to breeze passed this planning stage. I do recognize that this phase is important and will later save me a lot of trouble from re-coding or re-designing.

On a side note, handling the load of 3 jobs is making me confused as to which I should give first priority but I really love web development and I’m sure this project will fill a need for consumers who are tired of the existing system. I sometimes am afraid I have too much hope for Project Butterfly, but hope is required.

 

Leave a comment