Day 3: Didn’t Expect This Much Attention

Realized that some people are following this development blog, which was totally unexpected since I didn’t share at all on any Social Media. But anyway, thanks for reading and I took the Sunday off for badminton with my friends (its’s my only off day, so spare me)

So the results from the survey are in and turns out to be quite interesting. The number 1 issue on consumer’s mind about home renovation is Trust, and design ranks 3rd out of 4. So I guess credibility is really important in this industry than what the designers do. But these are just the general consumer who are concerned more about budget too. No offense to the designers as I know, they do really great difference to a project.

Also got the top 5 “must-have functionalities” and Contact Form is one of them! Wow~ and “social network signing up” didn’t make it. Maybe its the age of the current homeowners and buyers, so social networks are still not a major part of their lives. But this survey really helps me to get a good focus on what is expected (at least in Phase One) and I could build from there.

So I had all these characters made up the previous time and I’m supposed to act as them to use my app but I guessed I had the flow quite well developed in my mind, so all the characters ended performing the same tasks. Hahaha~ will do this exercise once the sitemap is up to test the flow better. 3 clicks to get what I want is a rule of thumb but I hope I can push for 2.

The other 2 following sections of the book requires focus groups, so that kinda put me off. So I just read through to see the thought process and next up, is Paper Prototyping. Gawd, finally we are getting close to coding. Though the method in the book is not the “cut & position” method but its kinda same. Will use my ex-lecturer’s method of “cut & position” as it is faster and take some photos on my phone to store them.

Guess the specifications requirement should be up too. Gonna prepare that and the prototyping. Oh, one problem, the navigation buttons are a handful and I dont think it can be placed comfortably in a row. Need to sort that out and still maintain usability. Much more expectations for tomorrow. 

Leave a comment