Day 2: Still reading around IA and UCD

Well, when most people say what you learnt in school is not applicable at work, it really doesn’t applies much to web development.

Reading through chapter 2, its starts with getting market research about what my target audience thinks and feels about the upcoming product and what they might wanna see. So I made a survey on Google Drive and went to Facebook to find a bunch of friends who fitted the profile of users for my application. Now to wait for them to complete it. Its just 5 questions, what is taking them so long?

In the next section, its to create Personas for the application. I recall that in Airene’s class, we were asked to imagine some fictional character to market our product to ( I totally thought that was stupid back then). But now, I’m doing it on my own and made 8 characters! Then I had to imagine how they would behave on my application and how their objectives would be met.

Tomorrow I will continue to run through their imaginary tasks and create a flow. This kinda forms a really UCD approach to the application. Really learnt so much and this practice definitely creates a user-friendly UI! Level up? I guess…

Oh yea, theres also a Conceptual Model which should outline the entire websites, flow of how things would be organized. Its quite similar to a sitemap but its more general which much more emphasis on the entire outline of the project and this serves as a graphical guide to how the entire project should behave.

Leave a comment